Learn more about COVID-19 updates and information.

Learn More

Committees & Boards

The Township of Augusta has several committees and boards which work to improve and promote life within the Township.  The committees are made up of Council members, Township employees and volunteers from the community and other local public services.

agriculture and rural affairs committee logo

Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee:

Appointed by Council, this advisory committee provides Council with opinion, comment and community knowledge on how their decisions can impact agricultural and rural matters within the Township.  They provide input on planning related matters that could have an impact on agricultural and rural living and work to promote and identify opportunities for local communities to support this untapped and sometimes undervalued economic sector and apprise Council and staff of potential concerns.

This Committee meets on the first Wednesday of every month when required.  The current Committee Chair is Councillor Samantha Schapelhouman.

committee of adjustment logo

Committee of Adjustment:

This Committee is in place to make decisions regarding proposed changes to a property which do not conform to the Zoning By-Law (minor variances).

The Committee of Adjustment meets on an as needed basis.

community development committee logo

Community Development Committee:

The mandate for this Committee is to explore and document relevant issues/trends, consult with community partners and develop programs and initiatives for consideration of Council and respective partners to enhance, promote and encourage the community development and continuous improvement of services provided by the Township.  This includes investigating potential sources of funding, to implement recommendations.

This Committee meets on the third Tuesday of the month.  The current Committee Chair is Councillor Tanya Henry.

Economic Development & Tourism Committee logo

Economic Development and Tourism Committee:

This committee works in an advisory capacity to attract, promote, retain and expand economic development and tourism within Augusta Township to make our Township a sustainable community in which to live, work and play. Each year Council and the Economic Development & Tourism Committee work together to put on the following  events:

Augusta Township Mayor’s Breakfast

Each spring, the Mayor hosts a breakfast for local businesses and the public with presentations on topics that matter to residents. The MP and MPP also attend to update residents on how the government is continuing to assist rural residents.

Augusta Township Business of the Year and New Business of the Year Awards

Council and the committee celebrate the accomplishments of two businesses in the Township of Augusta each year who have shown community involvement and innovation.  The Business of the Year Award is given to a business who has shown longevity, community involvement and innovation. The New Business of the Year Award is given to a business that has launched in the last 1 to 5 years, is and has shown community involvement, innovation and sustainability.

The Economic Development and Tourism Committee meets on the 1st Monday of the month.  The current Committee Chair is Deputy Mayor Jeff Shaver.

Joint Recreation Committee logo

Joint Recreation Committee:

This advisory committee consists of volunteer representatives from the Maitland, Maynard, North Augusta and Roebuck recreation centers as well as the Public Library.  They help shape what recreation is within the Township. In 2016, the Township, in conjunction with the recreation associations and library, began a process of developing a multi-year Parks, Recreation and Culture Master Plan. The Plan is now complete and serves as a guiding document and provides the principles for recreational and cultural service delivery for both the immediate and longer-term future.

The Joint Recreation Committee meets quarterly with individual recreation committee meetings held separately as needed.  The current Committee Chair is Councillor Michele Bowman.

Public Library Board logo

Library Board:

The Augusta Township Public Library Board is composed of volunteers who act in accordance with the Public Library Act.  The Board is responsible for formulating policies concerning the operations of the library to provide a comprehensive and efficient public library service that reflects the unique needs of Augusta Township.

The Library Board meets on the 3rd Tuesday of the month.  The current Council Representative is Councillor Michele Bowman.

Police Service Board logo

Police Services Board:

The Township of Augusta receives their police services from the Ontario Provincial Police – Grenville County (Prescott) Detachment.  The Police Services Board is made up of one Provincial appointee, one municipal appointee, the CAO and the Mayor.  Essentially this Board works in consultation with the Detachment Commander to bring forward any local issues and concerns so as to ensure the safety and security of the residents of the municipality.  The Board cannot direct the Detachment Commander with respect to specific operational decisions or day-to-day operations of the police service however.

The Police Services Board meets quarterly.  The current Board Chair is Glenn Mackey and the Council Representative is Mayor Doug Malanka.

Youth Advisory Committee Logo     Youth Advisory Committee Jr logo

Youth Advisory Committee:

This committee is made up of youth 12-17 years old that live in Augusta Township. There is also the YAC Jr. Committee which is made up of 8-12 year olds.  Members of these committees build leadership skills and learn about local government while working as a team to collaborate with the Township on events, programs and other initiatives that matter to younger residents.

If you or someone you know are interested in joining this committee, please visit the YAC page for more information on either group or contact the Township office (613-925-4231 ext. 110).

The Youth Advisory Committee meets on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of every month.  The YAC Jr. Committee meets once a month, dates to be announced.


bulletin board that says committee members needed

Augusta Township Council is looking for volunteers to join the following township committees/boards:

  • Community Development Committee
  • Agricultural and Rural Affairs Committee

Applications can be submitted to the Township Clerk, Annette Simonian either by mail, by dropping the application form in the drop box in the front lobby of the Township office or by emailing it to asimonian@augusta.ca.

Learn more about these new committees in the Mayor’s Augusta Matters article from July 29, 2020.

Community Development Committee Terms of Reference

Agriculture & Rural Affairs Committee Terms of Reference

Committee Appointment Application Form